Historic Buildings in New England- HELP!

By now many of you who read this and follow me on other sites must know that I am in love with Autumn! Sometimes I think my name should have been Autumn… but that’s a whole ‘nother story!

When planning my travels or creating guides for others I find it super important and interesting to visit historic places, but maybe I am not normal…

Buildings help add to our understanding of time, place and give us a physical feeling sometimes transporting us — similar to Marty McFly’s DeLorean, we can go backwards to another era and if we are very quiet sometimes be in that era. It is that exploration that adds to my New England travels and even though our physical history isn’t as deep as say Old England-we still have these buildings that dot the landscape.

Churches in the early days of New England were more than places of worship, they were basically community centers, gathering places for events, of all kinds, happiness, sadness and struggles. Sometimes I think we forget that these structures were not just to worship or aligned to one religion or faith but in many cases were multi purpose and as such were very sparse, simple structures compared to some of Europe’s mighty cathedrals.

As a photographer the white steeples poking thru brilliant fall trees of red, orange and yellows is striking and often a quest. When you start driving thru New England you will notice a lot of power lines, and yes we have photoshop but do we want to spend time behind our computer or out photographing?

Today besides encouraging you to look for those white steeples to add to your Fall Photos I want to point out a wonderful little church is in need of our help—New Hampshire- this little white church– please follow the link and help save this Classic New England view!

Apparently the steeple was damaged and is seeking funds to replace it–

https://tinyurl.com/y2mkteoa

And if you would like a beautiful image to grace your wall– check out this link

https://tinyurl.com/yygxkh3x

And you can also check out other organizations such as barns and more– but that’s another day– the countdown is for New England- I still see some rooms available but they are going quick- contact me to create your itinerary!

April 818.723.7413 or fill out the contact form on my page!

About phototrips

Raised in the Midwest - the center of the United States with hardworking parents-I got my first job in a library at 14 and have been working ever since. My grandma always loaded me in the car and down the road we went, the local market, the wildflowers, and a picnic lunch-she taught my sister and I the value of simple pleasures. My parents also always made sure we took a full week to 2 weeks for a summer vacation-we planned and looked forward to these adventures, again traveling on a budget, in a car throughout the United States. By the time my Mom passed away from breast cancer she had visited all 50 states and shared a love of the outdoors with me and her incredible classic fashion sense. I hope you will enjoy my blog posts about my Weekend Photo trips, my foodie stops and my love of new places... all on a budget but yet with a taste for the finest!
This entry was posted in Historic Destinations, New England, New England Travel, New Hampshire, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment