Best of 2018- Travel Places- tips-impressions!

Happy New Year 2019!

As we said Good-Bye to another year- 2018, I watched a beautiful sunset and gave thanks for so many new experiences last year!

Here are my thoughts on my travels- hope you will read and be inspired to get out and discover all that is around YOU!

My travels last year took me to places in the United States I had never visited- places like Huntsville, Hartford, Kalamazoo and those were just a few! Most of the surprise was not knowing where I would be until sometimes 48 hours before I left!

All of the places I visited were within the United States and many of my short visits inspired me to want to return and spend more time! As a photographer I find my eyes often lead the way- such as choosing a destination and matching it with a time of year or season that will provide the most eyeful experiences!

So if you want some suggestions here are a few….

Washington State– beautiful in early spring, bright blue skies and flower fields! I missed the window for the tulips but saw many bright fields of daffodils, and snow capped peaks! Fly into Seattle- and check this website for maps, dates and more on the tulips! tulipfestival.org

The beauty of the fields of flowers is the big draw for me!

Iowa- River towns like Dubuque, driving thru places like Dyersville site of the Movie “Field of Dreams” – Iowa truly shines in the months of June- bright green cornfields, rolling hills and gravel roads. Growing up in Iowa I always enjoyed driving down the backroads, stopping in small towns and seeing the wide open vistas! Check out the Fieldofdreamsmoviesite.com for information on visiting the site!

Iowa can get quite humid- so you may want to visit late May, early June or check out the infamous State Fair in August!

Kalamazoo, Michigan– I was in and out of this town so quick I just had time to enjoy some of the BBQ festival and a quick walk thru the historic downtown area, full of breweries, shops and unique architecture. Kalamazoo is home to 80.000 including the Western University of Michigan- has a unique historic downtown, new fresh food destinations and the original home of Gibson Guitar company. More than a unique name but a historic destination worth exploring!

Due to its location you may want to visit in Summertime- vs Winter when it can be quite cold!

Huntsville Alabama- Birthplace of America’s Space Program and Home to America’s Largest privately owned Artists Complex- the Lowe Mill! Lots of events, music, bbq festivals and more to enjoy- check out Huntsville.org and get planning!

What I would visit the next time I go- the Space Center!

Hartford Connecticut- weekends were made for discovering our History, or just taking a break- Hartford is all of that! Hartford is home to golf when the PGA is in town but beyond that- you can visit many Historic attractions, such as The Mark Twain House, the old courthouse, the historic riverfront and the Nations Oldest Public Art Museum the Wadsworth Atheneum. Check out https://hartford.com/ for more information.

Either include Hartford as part of a longer Connecticut – East Coast trip or make it for a weekend!

With all of these quick trips- it’s important to pack LIGHT- wasting time at baggage claim can shave time off your explorations. Get an all in one lens or a small point and shoot camera. I like the Tamron lenses such as the 18-300 or 18-400 both affordable for either Nikon or Canon mounts and will cover it all! Comfortable shoes- I can’t say enough about shoes or boots- I travel with one pair on my feet and a second pair in my bag- it’s worth it to have a second pair. one casual , one maybe a tad dressier. If you choose a leather boot or shoe be sure and treat them to make them more weather resistant just in case of rain, snow or whatever you may encounter. Clothes can do double duty- layering pieces, for women maybe check out some of the reversible jeans out there!

That’s it for today January 1- happy New Year!

If you have thoughts on places you are considering drop me an email april @aprilart.com or check out my 2019 Small group tours at http://www.yourphototravelguide.com

 

 

About phototrips

Raised in the Midwest - the center of the United States with hardworking parents-I got my first job in a library at 14 and have been working ever since. My grandma always loaded me in the car and down the road we went, the local market, the wildflowers, and a picnic lunch-she taught my sister and I the value of simple pleasures. My parents also always made sure we took a full week to 2 weeks for a summer vacation-we planned and looked forward to these adventures, again traveling on a budget, in a car throughout the United States. By the time my Mom passed away from breast cancer she had visited all 50 states and shared a love of the outdoors with me and her incredible classic fashion sense. I hope you will enjoy my blog posts about my Weekend Photo trips, my foodie stops and my love of new places... all on a budget but yet with a taste for the finest!
This entry was posted in TRAVEL and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment