Destinations 2015- All American Road Trips- The Palouse Scenic Byway

Palouse_RoadPalouse_fieldPalouse_bluePalouse_wheels

As Cold temperatures and snow grip most of the United States- it is time to grab the maps and start thinking of new places to Photograph!

The Palouse Scenic Byway in Washington State is beautiful in all seasons- often referred to as the “Tuscany of the United States” the changing crops in varying stages of black soil to harvest golds offer many photographic possibilities.
It is also a pleasure to drive the quiet 2 lane roads of the Scenic Byway passing thru such small towns such as Dusty, St John and Uniontown.

Temperatures seem pretty mild most of the year- and you can find more information at http://www.palousescenicbyway.com

Photo tips:
Layers- even earlier summer can have cool and rainy days- you can’t focus on getting a good photograph if you are cold.
Long lens=such as a 79-300mm to pick out portions of a scene, or isolate lines and patterns.
Wide angle 10-18mm or something similar to pick up a range of the landscape as far as you can see.
Cleaning kit- it can often be windy and dusty depending on time of year and if crops are being harvested.

Grab a map, your camera and some food for the Road and GO !

About phototrips

Raised in the Midwest - the center of the United States with hardworking parents-I got my first job in a library at 14 and have been working ever since. My grandma always loaded me in the car and down the road we went, the local market, the wildflowers, and a picnic lunch-she taught my sister and I the value of simple pleasures. My parents also always made sure we took a full week to 2 weeks for a summer vacation-we planned and looked forward to these adventures, again traveling on a budget, in a car throughout the United States. By the time my Mom passed away from breast cancer she had visited all 50 states and shared a love of the outdoors with me and her incredible classic fashion sense. I hope you will enjoy my blog posts about my Weekend Photo trips, my foodie stops and my love of new places... all on a budget but yet with a taste for the finest!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment