Destinations 2015-Americana- Classic Route 66

ROUTE66_CARS_color<a ROUTE66_CARS_color

RT66_Motel

With Gas prices down 2015 may definitely be the Year to make a ROAD TRIP! The kind where you pick some cool spots or a scenic drive and go-

Route 66 is the Mother Road – the Classic American Road trip!
You can choose to take the whole route if you can or split it into pieces!
Living in California where the Route ends I can start here and do a stretch into Arizona or beyond.
A recent trip to Barnes and Noble’s travel section held a shelf just of Route 66 books, detailing the history -old photos and more!

Concidentally today was the last day of the Route 66 exhibit at the Autry Museum in LA http://route66.theautry.org/exhibition which I did get to see in July.

I highly recommend Jerry McClanahan’s EZ Guide to planning your Route 66 Trip!
And if you are interested check out my page I added the First Route 66 trip of the year!
Happy Travels!

About phototrips

Raised in the Midwest - the center of the United States with hardworking parents-I got my first job in a library at 14 and have been working ever since. My grandma always loaded me in the car and down the road we went, the local market, the wildflowers, and a picnic lunch-she taught my sister and I the value of simple pleasures. My parents also always made sure we took a full week to 2 weeks for a summer vacation-we planned and looked forward to these adventures, again traveling on a budget, in a car throughout the United States. By the time my Mom passed away from breast cancer she had visited all 50 states and shared a love of the outdoors with me and her incredible classic fashion sense. I hope you will enjoy my blog posts about my Weekend Photo trips, my foodie stops and my love of new places... all on a budget but yet with a taste for the finest!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment