Warm the Soul

coffeemugs

Simple things.. like these white coffee cups warm my soul. Growing up in the Midwest, I feel fortunate to have been taught and shown the gifts of finding joy in everyday moments. Grandma lived in a very old house, the paint was peeling, the stairs creaked and things were cracked but we never ran out of things to do on a hot humid summer day.. or any day for that matter. We would go for a walk, pick berries, visit people or just get in her big old car with a sack lunch and drive the roads with the windows down to cool us.

The holidays are filled with reminders- we return to our roots and relive hopefully bright shiny moments…and create new ones. In the spirit of the season seek the joy in simple pleasures…the way the light hits the shells on your window ledge, the sparkling Christmas lights, walking in the rain or sitting and watching the clouds.

As in seeking joy in simple things.. don’t neglect photographing those things that bring you joy… take out your camera..walk with it.. or simply play… find objects in your home.. even simple white dishes can tell a great story in pictures.

About phototrips

Raised in the Midwest - the center of the United States with hardworking parents-I got my first job in a library at 14 and have been working ever since. My grandma always loaded me in the car and down the road we went, the local market, the wildflowers, and a picnic lunch-she taught my sister and I the value of simple pleasures. My parents also always made sure we took a full week to 2 weeks for a summer vacation-we planned and looked forward to these adventures, again traveling on a budget, in a car throughout the United States. By the time my Mom passed away from breast cancer she had visited all 50 states and shared a love of the outdoors with me and her incredible classic fashion sense. I hope you will enjoy my blog posts about my Weekend Photo trips, my foodie stops and my love of new places... all on a budget but yet with a taste for the finest!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment